Congress MP Sanjay Singh resigns from Rajya Sabha, can join BJP

Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh has recently resigned from his Rajya Sabha membership and party. Sanjay Singh contested the Lok Sabha elections 2019 from Sultanpur, where he had to face defeat in front of BJP’s Maneka Gandhi.

Sanjay Singh has resigned from the Rajya Sabha membership at a time when there is a debate on the ‘Triple Divorce’ bill presented by the government. They can join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Rajya Sabha member from Assam

Sanjay Singh is a Rajya Sabha member from Assam. Sanjay Singh’s term was still left for one year. Despite this, they have announced to leave the Rajya Sabha and the Congress. Sanjay Singh started his political innings with the Congress. However, he left the Congress and joined the BJP during the Ram Mandir movement.

After resigning from Rajya Sabha membership

After Sanjay Singh resigns from Rajya Sabha membership, the total number of this upper house of Parliament will come down to 240. The total number of members in Rajya Sabha is 245. There were already four seats vacant in Rajya Sabha. The resignation of Sanjay Singh has left five seats in the Rajya Sabha.

What did Sanjay Singh say after his resignation

After the resignation, Sanjay Singh said that I am leaving the Congress because the Congress is unaware of the future. I support Prime Minister Narendra Modi because of ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas’. The whole country is with Prime Minister Modi today. If the whole country is with them, then I am also with them. Tomorrow I will join BJP. Sanjay Singh said that I have resigned from the party and Rajya Sabha.

Did you like the article? So also watch the video!

About Sanjay Singh:

Sanjay Singh is considered very close to the Gandhi family. The Congress made Sanjay Singh a Rajya Sabha MP from Assam. In the year 1980, when the Congress decided to contest from Amethi, Sanjay Singh gave his support to Sanjay Gandhi.

Sanjay Singh has already left the Congress once before. He was elected as a Member of Parliament from the Amethi Parliamentary seat in 1998 by defeating Congress Captain Satish Sharma. He was then Union Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.

He left the BJP and returned to the Congress after Rahul Gandhi joined the Congress. Sanjay Singh was elected as an MP from Sultapur seat in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections.

Also read:RBI Deputy Governor Viral Acharya resigns

Also read:British Prime Minister Theresa May announced her resignation

For Latest Current Affairs & GK, Click here


Source link